business resources
Buying Identity Theft Insurance in 2026: A Guide to Stolen Funds, Legal Fees, Lost Wages, and Coverage Limits
28 Oct 2026

Key Takeaways
- For insurance value and digital security bundles, Coveron (formerly NordProtect) leads with five separate covers underwritten by HSB.
- Allstate Identity Protection is the pick for separate stolen-funds limits, with tiers from $50,000 to $1 million.
- IDShield is the pick for investigator-led restoration, with licensed private investigators and a $3 million headline policy.
- Most identity theft insurance pays recovery expenses, not stolen money. Stolen funds usually need their own cover or sublimit.
- Sublimits, deductibles and lost-wage caps matter more than the headline limit on most claims.
Identity theft insurance pays the costs of repairing your identity, and most policies do not repay stolen money. The smart purchase starts with the fine print, not the biggest number on the plan page. Lost wages, legal fees and stolen funds each tend to have their own rules.
Identity theft causes measurable losses every year. The FBI IC3 2025 Internet Crime Report logged 31,675 identity theft complaints and $185.8 million in identity theft losses. Total reported cybercrime losses reached nearly $21 billion across all complaint types.
This guide explains what each part of a policy covers. We then compare three services that handle stolen funds, legal fees and lost wages in different ways.
| Service | Total limit | Stolen funds | Lost wages | Underwriter | Starting price | Best for |
| Coveron (formerly NordProtect) | $2M identity theft recovery | Up to $100K (online fraud cover, direct loss) | Up to $5,000 (with child/elder care) | HSB Specialty Insurance Company | Starts at $5.99/mo (Identity Theft Protection, 2-year plan) | Insurance value and digital security bundles |
| Allstate Identity Protection | $1M expenses (Essentials and above) | $50K Essentials / $500K Premier / $1M Blue | Not specified | American Bankers (Assurant) | $3.00/mo (Identity Restoration) | Separate stolen-funds limits |
| IDShield | Up to $3M | No separate limit published | Not specified | American Bankers (Assurant) | $14.95/mo (Individual, 1-bureau) | Investigator-led restoration |
All prices and coverage details reflect our October 23, 2026 review and may change. Coveron’s pricing page lists its current rates.
Expenses vs Stolen Money: The Line Most Policies Draw
Identity theft insurance mainly covers recovery expenses. The NAIC’s December 2025 consumer insight lists legal fees, lost wages and administrative expenses as typical covered costs. It adds that policies generally do not reimburse money stolen from accounts.
The FTC gives the same warning. Its guide, What To Know About Identity Theft, says insurance may cover out-of-pocket costs, lost wages and legal fees. It also says insurance generally won’t reimburse money scammers stole.
Coordination rules can shrink a payout further. The FTC notes that most policies will not pay if homeowners or renters insurance already covers the loss. Buyers should check both policies before relying on either one.
Stolen-funds coverage is a separate benefit. Some services add it as a distinct line with its own limit. Others fold it into the overall limit with no separate figure.
Reading the Limits: Sublimits, Deductibles and Lost-Wage Caps
Headline limits rarely decide a real claim. The GAO-17-254 report found that insurance claims paid by these services rarely exceed a few thousand dollars. The terms below shape what you actually receive.
| Term | What to check |
| Aggregate limit | The most the policy pays per year across all covers |
| Sublimits | Smaller caps on items like legal fees, counseling or stolen funds |
| Deductible | The amount you pay per claim before cover starts, and which covers it applies to |
| Lost-wage cap | A dollar ceiling or a weekly cap with a set number of weeks |
| Pre-existing theft | Whether events that began before enrollment are excluded |
| Shared family limit | Whether one limit is split across every member of a family plan |
Deductibles vary by coverage. Some plans waive the deductible on recovery services and apply it to cash reimbursements. A $250 deductible weighs heavily on a small claim and far less on a large one.
Family plans often share one limit. A $2 million cap split across five adults covers less per person than five separate policies. Ask the provider how the aggregate works before you add members.
Top Recommendations
Our ranking weighs how clearly each service separates stolen funds, legal fees and lost wages. The order also reflects insurance detail, extra security tools and recovery support. A different buyer fits each pick.
1. Coveron (formerly NordProtect) - Best for Insurance Value and Digital Security Bundles
Nord Security, the company behind NordVPN, built Coveron around five insurance covers from HSB Specialty Insurance Company. Identity Theft Protection and every higher plan include them all. The covers are $2,000,000 identity theft recovery, $100,000 cyber extortion and $100,000 online fraud. Cyberattacks get $10,000, and home title fraud gets $100,000.
The recovery cover pays legal fees, plus lost wages and child or elder care up to $5,000. Money stolen in online scams falls under the online fraud cover, which pays direct loss minus anything a bank repays.
The Summary of Benefits lists each cover with its own limit, which makes Coveron a strong fit for itemized insurance recovery. Coverage limits depend on the plan you choose. Claims carry a deductible of $100 to $250, depending on the plan. The $2 million recovery cover and case management carry no deductible.
A buyer who loses money to a romance scam can claim the direct loss under online fraud. Its scam protection also covers marketplace fraud, QR code scams and deepfake scams.
Full Protection adds NordVPN, antivirus, Incogni data removal and 3-bureau credit monitoring (Experian, Equifax and TransUnion). Single-bureau credit monitoring comes with Identity Theft Protection. Alerts arrive in real time from 24/7 dark web scans of email, SSN, phone and card numbers on every plan. From Identity Theft Protection up, that puts monitoring, alerts, recovery support and insurance in one plan.
Identity Theft Protection starts at $5.99/mo on the 2-year plan for the first 24 months, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. Coveron has completed SOC 2 Type II certification, and Security.org rates it 9.7/10. Coveron’s identity and cyber protection benefits cover every US state, the US territories and the District of Columbia, except New York residents.
“So far, I'm happy with Coveron. I mainly use it for the dark web monitoring, it's easy to use and worth the money.” Tomas, 5-star review on Trustpilot, October 2026
We recommend Coveron for: Buyers who want several insurance covers and digital security tools in one plan.
2. Allstate Identity Protection - Best for Separate Stolen-Funds Limits
Allstate Identity Protection publishes stolen-funds limits as a separate line on each tier. Essentials offers $50,000, Premier offers $500,000 and Blue offers $1 million. Blue adds another $1 million for 401(k) and HSA accounts.
Each tier from Essentials up carries $1 million in identity theft expense cover. The policy is underwritten by American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida, an Assurant company. Plans start at $3.00/mo for Identity Restoration, which has a $25,000 expense limit and no stolen-funds cover.
Allstate includes full-service restoration on every plan, with U.S.-based support 24/7. Premier adds $500 in stolen wallet cash.
Credit monitoring covers 1 bureau on Essentials and Premier and 3 bureaus on Blue. Security.org scores the service 9.1 out of 10.
One April 2025 reviewer found the coverage terms hard to follow:
“I find it very confusing and unclear what I am covered for.” Harvey, 1-star review on Trustpilot, April 2025
We recommend Allstate Identity Protection for: Buyers who want a clearly stated stolen-funds limit and the option to scale it up.
3. IDShield - Best for Investigator-Led Restoration
IDShield assigns restoration to licensed private investigators. The investigators are licensed in Oklahoma, and members get unlimited consultation with them. Products come from Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc., known as LegalShield.
The policy reaches up to $3 million for identity fraud expenses, underlying losses and legal costs. American Bankers Insurance Company of Florida, an Assurant company, underwrites it. IDShield publishes no separate stolen-funds limit.
Full restoration excludes most pre-existing identity theft events. Consultation, fraud alert help and monitoring still apply to those cases.
Individual plans start at $14.95/mo for 1-bureau monitoring or $19.95/mo for 3 bureaus. Family plans start at $29.95/mo. IDShield holds a 4.7 out of 5 Trustpilot rating.
Cancellation requests must be made in writing.
We recommend IDShield for: Buyers who want a licensed investigator to run the recovery work.
What a Claim Needs
Insurers ask for proof before they pay. The FTC’s identity theft guidance tells victims to report identity theft to the FTC at IdentityTheft.gov. Gather these items early.
- An FTC Identity Theft Report. File it at IdentityTheft.gov, which also gives you a personal recovery plan.
- A police report, if the insurer asks. Some policies ask for one as proof.
- Receipts for every cost. Keep records of legal fees, postage, notary charges and childcare.
- A dated timeline. Note when you found the theft, who you called and what each party said.
- Bank reimbursement records. Many stolen-funds covers subtract what a bank repays, so insurers need this figure.
The Bottom Line
Identity theft insurance works best when each cost has a clear line in the policy. Our advice is to read the sublimits and deductible before comparing headline limits.
Coveron is the choice for insurance value and digital security bundles in one plan. Allstate publishes the clearest separate stolen-funds limits. IDShield fits readers who prefer investigator-led restoration.
Insurance is one layer of protection, not the whole plan. A free credit freeze can block new-account fraud before a claim is ever needed. Pair any policy with that free step.
FAQs
Is identity theft insurance really worth it?
Identity theft insurance is worth it mainly for recovery costs and support. The GAO found that paid claims rarely exceed a few thousand dollars. The value often lies in restoration help and stolen-funds cover, not the headline limit.
What is covered under identity theft insurance?
Identity theft insurance usually covers legal fees, lost wages and administrative costs. The NAIC lists these as typical restoration expenses. Some plans add childcare, counseling or home title cover.
Does identity theft insurance cover stolen money?
Standard identity theft insurance generally does not cover stolen money. The FTC says it generally won’t reimburse money scammers stole. Some services add a separate stolen-funds or online fraud cover with its own limit.
Is identity theft insurance available through homeowners insurance?
Some insurers offer identity theft coverage inside homeowners or renters policies. The NAIC notes it is sold standalone, within those policies or bundled with protection services. Check the policy and ask the insurer about limits and exclusions.
What is a deductible on identity theft insurance?
A deductible is the amount you pay per claim before cover starts. Many plans set a different deductible for each cover. Some waive it on recovery services and case management, so check which covers it applies to.






