State Street Corporation (NYSE: STT) has announced the call for entries for its sixteenth annual State Street Institutional Press Awards recognising outstanding performance in institutional financial services reporting. Building on the success of previous years, the 2017 Awards will honour the contribution of journalists covering institutional investment, pensions, investor services and technology themes over the past year. In recognition of the growing focus on diversity and inclusion within the financial services sector,

the Awards will now include a new “Journalist of the Year – Diversity & Inclusion” category.

For 2017, the Awards will recognise excellence in journalism in the following twelve categories:

  1. Journalist of the Year – Pensions
  2. Journalist of the Year - Regulation
  3. ournalist of the Year – Investment
  4. Journalist of the Year – Investor Services
  5. Journalist of the Year – Alternatives
  6. Journalist of the Year – Passive investment/ Indexing (including ETFs)
  7. Journalist of the Year – Data, Technology & Innovation
  8. Journalist of the Year – Diversity & Inclusion
  9. Breaking News Journalist of the Year
  10. Best Newcomer
  11. Best Editorial Comment
  12. Outstanding Contribution to Institutional Journalism 2017

The winners in each category will be announced at a ceremony in London on Wednesday, November 15, 2017. Julian Marr, editor of Professional Adviser and Padraig Floyd, a veteran financial journalist who was awarded last year’s “Outstanding Contribution to Institutional Journalism Award”, will serve as lead judges. They will be supported by a five-strong panel of respected figures from the UK and European financial services industry.  The judging panel for 2017 is as follows:

  • Gill Wadsworth, freelance journalist
  • Lynn Strongin Dodds, freelance journalist
  • Malcolm McLean, OBE, consultant, Barnett Waddingham
  • Lindsay Tomlinson, former chairman of BGI/BLK and then NAPF. Currently a board  member for Legal & General Investment Management (LGIM)
  • Karen Tso, CNBC anchor

State Street welcomes submissions from journalists / publications wishing to enter in any of the eleven categories eligible for self-nomination.

Entrants should complete the entry form, submitting two supporting articles per category entered, published over the last 12 months (July 2016 – July 2017 inclusive)

. The same articles cannot be submitted in multiple categories.


The ‘Outstanding Contribution to Journalism’ award is given at the discretion of the judging panel and looks to recognise a journalist that has made an outstanding contribution to institutional journalism over their career. This is not a category for which one can submit an entry. For further details, please refer to the